In a surprise move ahead the inauguration of the next Imo Assembly, Six current lawmakers of the State on Monday defected to the Peoples Democratic Party.

The Asembly members announced their defections in a letter they addressed to the Speaker and read by the clerk of the House during plenary.

Among the six lawmakers, five of them until their defection on Monday were members of the Action Alliance and the sixth person was a member of the All Progressives Grand Alliance.

Those that defected from the AA to the PDP include, Mike Iheanaetu (Aboh Mbaise), Victor Onyewuchi (Owerri West), Ken Agbim (Ahiazu Mbaise) Lloyd Chukwuemeka (Owerri North) and Bruno Ukoha (Ezinihittte Mbaise)

The sixth person Chiji Collins (Isiala Mbano), defected from APGA to PDP.

Some sources indicated that the defection of Collins was to enable him to emerge the next Speaker of the Assembly.